Elmo Cupcakes

I’ve always been rather pessimistic about chinese new year, I mean, what is there to love about the reunion dinners where everyone gathers to compare the choices their children have made? Or the repeat of questions that we are forced to answer every year?

But it seems, this year something has changed. I see faces of wonder as we realize how fast we are growing up, I see the love in my grandmother’s cooking, the happiness in her face as she sees us tucking into the food she’s labored for since five in the morning. I’m not sure what has changed exactly, maybe its the wrinkles I see that weren’t there before, or the tired smiles from the adults this year.. Or maybe its a new appreciation for the same foods that been on the table year after year, and acknowledging the effort that’s gone into them. I don’t know, but for once in my life, I’m thankful for a once-in-a-year chance to see the people who mean the most in my heart.

Somberness aside, I spent part of my week in the kitchen, baking and decorating a little birthday surprise for a friend of mine who is currently based overseas and wanted a special gift for a friend of hers.

My job was relatively simple – bake cookies and decorate cupcakes as per instructions and then ring the dude up a day before the aforementioned delivery was due to inform him that someone had ordered something for him and request for a location to deliver.

Here I had a little problem.

The recipient was suspicious. (Sigh! I suppose one has every right to be..) And gruffly replied that he would collect the gift instead.

I confess that I was a little afraid that he wouldn’t collect them, though thankfully he did.

And I think he was very  very pleasantly surprised 🙂

Have I mentioned my other hobby? I love collecting scrapbooking paper and foam stickers! I don’t really use them much though they did come in useful here 🙂

(Terribly decadent) Raspberry Chocolate, Elmo Cupcakes

If you’re wondering.. The words on the cupcakes say – Happy 24th Birthday Charles!

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful chinese new year so far – I know I had 🙂  The smiles I’ve seen over these couple of days have reminded me of how special surprises are and reaffirmed my love in cake decorating 🙂

Leave a Reply

