Pineapple Tarts

My grandma used to make pineapple tarts for us when we were kids. ย After her back started giving her problems a few years ago, she stopped. ย Since chinese new year is approaching, I requested for her recipe to attempt to make them myself. She felt that it would be hard for me to understand her instructions in mandarin so she decided to make them for our family this year so that I could watch her make them and learn ๐Ÿ™‚

The pineapple filling was made beforehand, so we only made the dough today. Between the four of us – my grandma, my mum, my cousin & me, we took about three hours to make, roll and cut the dough.. Before making these today, I never knew they were so labour-intensive and I appreciate them more now that I do ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Grandma’s hands mixing the doughย 

Rolling pastry dough outย 

Dough cut, time for the pineapple filling!

Final touches before bakingย 

Baking in the ovenย 

Baked and smelling good ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

 

I’ll be making these again this weekend and samples will be given out for all orders this month for feedback. As this is the first time I’m making these, I’m not 100% satisfied with the pineapple filling so I’ll be tweaking the recipe a little.. will not be taking orders for this year – but next year, Definitely! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

