Giant Cupcake + Strawberry Shortcake

Chocolate Butter Cake with Dark Chocolate Ganache (55%) & Vanilla Swiss Meringue Buttercream 

I’ve been eyeing the giant cupcake pan for a long time, and since my birthday was around the corner… I decided to get it! I initially wanted to make two cakes, one for myself and the other for my aunt (whose birthday falls on the same day as mine!) but thought that it might be a little strange to bake my own birthday cake so I settled for making just one. I’m thrilled the cake turned out pretty and yummy! If anyone’s interested, it weighs about 2kg, feeds 8 – 12 generous servings 🙂 (According to my Uncle who disassembled the cake, they had 24 slices)

Strawberry Shortcake 

Vanilla Butter Cake soaked in Earl-Grey syrup, layered with Pastry Cream, Macerated Strawberries & Whipped Cream, coated with Feuilletine  flakes. 

This was a special request from my friend Wayne. 🙂

Sorry for the crappy photos – I keep forgetting to whip out my DSLR (okay fine, I find it a hassle.. especially if the cakes are due in the morning and by the time I’m done baking + decorating, the sun’s barely risen!) so the iphone pictures will have to suffice for now!

Leave a Reply

